‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ Wins Four VES Awards!

‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ Wins Four VES Awards!


Visual Effects Society Announces Winners of the 14th Annual VES Awards

“Star Wars: The Force Awakens” Leads Feature Film Wins with 4 Awards; “The Good Dinosaur” is Top Animated Film Winner; “Games of Thrones” and SSE Lead in Broadcast and Commercial Wins

Los Angeles – Today, the Visual Effects Society (VES), the industry’s global professional honorary society, held the 14th Annual VES Awards, the prestigious yearly celebration that recognizes outstanding visual effects artistry and innovation in film, animation, television, commercials, video games and special venues. Comedian Patton Oswalt served as host to the more than 1000 guests gathered at the Beverly Hilton to celebrate VFX talent in 23 awards categories. Star Wars: The Force Awakens was the big winner of the evening garnering four awards, with The Revenant close behind with three wins. The teams from The Good Dinosaur (animated feature), Games of Thrones (photoreal episode) and SSE (commercial) led the wins in their respective categories, taking home three awards each.

Kate Mara accompanied by taped congratulations from Matt Damon and Juliana Margulies made a crowd-pleasing presentation to award-winning director-producer Sir Ridley Scott, recipient of the VES Lifetime Achievement Award. Industry veteran Scott Ross presented the VES Visionary Award to acclaimed conceptual artist Syd Mead. The show also featured a salute to ILM’s 40th anniversary. Awards presenters included directors Pete Docter and Zack Snyder, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Terry Crews, Michael Pena, Dennis Haysbert, Portia Doubleday, Erika Christensen, Camilla Luddington and Sharlto Copley.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens won awards in the following categories:

Outstanding Visual Effects in a Photoreal Feature

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Roger Guyett

Luke O’Byrne

Patrick Tubach

Paul Kavanagh

Chris Corbould

Outstanding Created Environment in a Photoreal Feature

Star Wars: The Force Awakens; Falcon Chase / Graveyard

Yanick Dusseault

Mike Wood

Justin van der Lek

Quentin Marmier

Outstanding Virtual Cinematography in a Photoreal Project

Star Wars: The Force Awakens; Falcon Chase / Graveyard

Paul Kavanagh

Colin Benoit

Susumu Yukuhiro

Greg Salter

Outstanding Models in a Photoreal or Animated Project

Star Wars: The Force Awakens; BB-8

Joshua Lee

Matthew Denton

Landis Fields

Cyrus Jam

Congratulations to all the winners!

Source: Visual Effects Society

Powered by
Please follow and like us:
%d bloggers like this: