Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall to Receive Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award

Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall to Receive Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award

The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences will be awarding the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award to Lucasfilm president and producer Kathleen Kennedy, and her husband and frequent collaborator, producer Frank Marshall. Find out more from the official press release below:

The Kennedy/Marshall producing partnership, formed in 1991, has generated Best Picture nominations for “The Sixth Sense” (1999), “Seabiscuit” (2003), “Munich” (2005) and “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” (2008). Kennedy/Marshall Company productions also include “Congo,” all five “Bourne” films, and “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly.” Prior to forming Kennedy/Marshall, the duo co-founded Amblin Productions with Steven Spielberg, sharing a Best Picture nomination for “The Color Purple” (1985). Additionally, Marshall received a Best Picture nomination for “Raiders of the Lost Ark” (1981), while Kennedy was nominated in the same category for “E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial” (1982), “War Horse” (2011) and “Lincoln” (2012). Kennedy is the first woman to receive the Thalberg Award.

The Honorary Award, an Oscar statuette, is given “to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.” The Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, a bust of the motion picture executive, is presented to creative producers “whose body of work reflects a consistently high quality of motion picture production.”

The award ceremony will take place at the Academy’s 10th Annual Governors Awards on Sunday, November 18, at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center.

Congratulations to the honorees!

Source: oscars.org

Powered by
Please follow and like us:
%d bloggers like this: